Google I/O 2024 Live Blog: News on AI, Pixel, Android 15 and more

Update

I’d also love to see some cool new Chromebooks. Perhaps a showcase for how Chromebook Plus devices can stand out among the best Chromebooks on the market.

Could we see some new Pixel smartphones too? Of course, there are credible rumors that the Pixel 9 series will be launched today.

I’m interested to see what Google does here. I’ve had Pixel phones since the original, and my last phone was the Pixel Pro 7. So I really like Pixels, especially how they come with relatively lackluster versions of Android.

However, my Pixel Pro 7 unfortunately survived (long story that I don’t quite remember), so I have a new phone – a Samsung Galaxy 24 Ultra. If Google releases a Pixel 9 that surpasses it, I might get a little excited.

Google Pixel 7 Pro phone

(Image credit: The Future / Philip Burney)

Personally, despite AI’s enormous potential, I haven’t really found any major AI releases that have fundamentally changed my day-to-day life. So I wonder if Google can change that.

Otherwise, as an Android smartphone owner, I’m really curious to see what Google has in store with Android 15, which is expected to arrive.

We’ll likely learn more about what Gemini can do, as well as how it integrates into core Google products like the Chrome browser and Pixel smartphones.

Silhouette of a woman holding a smartphone with the Google Gemini logo in the background

(Image credit: Shutterstock)

So what is everyone looking forward to at this year’s I/O event? There’s a lot of excitement about artificial intelligence, and it looks like Google is going to double down on its AI chatbot Gemini.

An empty auditorium at Google I/O 2023

(Image credit: The Future)

If you’d like to watch the live stream, which starts at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST (or 3am AEST on 15 May), then check out our guide on how to watch Google I/O 2024.

As I mentioned above, we’ll have Phil Burney, our US phones editor, on-site at the event in California (lucky him), while myself and much of the TechRadar team will be following online from less sunny climes. New York and London.

Hello! Welcome to our Google I/O liveblog! I’ll be running this live blog as the hype builds about what Google is going to show off today.

Leave a Comment