As a result of the explosion of the tornado in Oklahoma, 4 people died, a state of emergency was declared

Governor Kevin Stitt has declared a state of emergency in 12 counties across Oklahoma.

It comes after dozens of tornadoes swept through the state on Saturday, killing four people, authorities said.

Counties included in this declaration include Carter, Cotton, Garfield, Hughes, Kay, Lincoln, Love, Murray, Okfuski, Oklahoma, Payne and Pontotoc counties.

The declaration comes after a storm in Oklahoma on Saturday spawned multiple tornadoes from mid-morning through the night into Sunday. It suspends rules on “size and weight permits for large vehicles carrying materials and supplies critical to recovery, emergency response and power restoration,” according to a press release issued Sunday morning.

related coverage

  1. 1 dead, at least 20 injured as sulfur tornado hits city
  2. Destruction can be seen in Sulfur after Saturday’s storms


The declaration lasts for 30 days.

Leave a Comment